#13 What Is Your Message To The World?

The other day I was walking back to the office and passed a graveyard. Usually I walk straight past it but on this occasion, a lovely sunny day, I decided to go in.

Walking around, looking at some of the graves, I felt strangely peaceful. Reading some of the inscriptions got me thinking about the lives of these people and what they had achieved.

I then thought about what I have achieved and what I hope to do in the future. This walk was giving me such a sense of perspective and all the miniscule everyday dramas became irrelevant. I started thinking do I want to travel? Do I want to marry? Do I want children? They faded into creating a purpose, a mission statement if you like. And I decided that the well-known phrase ‘be the change you wish to see in the world’ is a purpose I feel drawn to.

Be The Change

Don’t follow the herd, carve your own path and do what suits you. Lead by change and inspire others to do the same. Live by your purpose and use that as the answer to your questions about whether you want to do something. Does it fit my purpose? Or do I have a real passion for it? If the answer is no, then don’t do it.

I have always felt called to do something different. At first, I felt it was a personal insult, like I could never be the ‘popular’ one with the Brad Pitt boyfriend and lifestyle, but then I realised part of who I am and where I feel happiest is when I am learning from someone, helping them grow and having open discussions about everything – honesty and integrity.

My boyfriend may not be Brad Pitt but he fascinates me in many ways. How different we are to each other and yet how well we match up. Sure we have our ups and downs but I am learning so much more about how what people say on the outside can boil down to something completely different on the inside.

That’s what makes my purpose real. It’s almost like thinking, what does society dictate here, then doing the opposite.

And situations like walking around a deserted graveyard in the midday sunshine, with just butterflies and crickets for company, makes you realise that when it all comes down to it, your final broadcast ends up being what is written on your gravestone.

What would you want your message to the world to be?

This entry was posted in Bits & Blogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

