A Festive Countdown

First up, don’t give me a hard time for mentioning the C word…Christmas! I received my first email mentioning it this week which got me thinking, with less than 3 months to go until the big day, why not capitalise on it and turn it into a project.

For the next 17 weeks, I will be setting myself a series of weekly challenges to do to try a new routine, build self-esteem and mix things up a bit (and I’ll probably have to fit some Christmas shopping in there too!)

December 25th is a Sunday, but for ease I am going to start all my weeks on a Monday – just because that’s the start of my working week as well.

I have had ideas such as getting up at 5am everyday to raise productivity, changing all my plans one week to be more flexible and doing things like daily yoga, trying new recipes and learning a new skill.

Bearing in mind that the nights are already getting darker and the weather isn’t always as nice in the UK in the latter part of the year, I will use these both as motivators and challengers depending on my focus.

So for week one, inspired by a recent article I read online, I am going to set my alarm for 5am everyday and aim to use the time to read a book (something I don’t get a chance to do as much anymore). The aim of the game is to finish the whole book over the course of the week, just using that extra time in the morning.

The first part is choosing a book I’d like to read, so that’s my job for this weekend.

I’ll let you know how I get on in my next post!

This entry was posted in Countdown to Christmas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

