Why Shakespeare was right

Everyone remembers studying Shakespeare at school. You probably also remember a specific quote that stood out for you in one of his works.

For me, one of the stand out quotations is from the play Measure for Measure which I very much enjoyed studying. The quote is:

Our doubts are traitors and make us lose the good we oft might win by fearing to attempt.

One of the reasons I remember and refer to this quote in particular is because it truly resonates with me.

I know my doubts have the ability to stop me in my tracks if I’m not careful. They start a domino effect of self-doubt, worry and negativity which only leads to a feeling of frustration or angst.

I don’t think I will be able to ever stop worrying. It’s part of who I am. I care too much to not worry. However, I am learning to manage worries so they don’t stand in my way.

Doubts and worrying are very closely linked and they do tend to fuel each other but, at the end of the day, they don’t get you anywhere.

You can worry all you like about a job interview, a relationship or a flight but when it comes down to it, what will be, will be. I won’t let worrying prevent me from going for that job, talking to that guy or taking that flight.

Doubting is saying you don’t think you are capable of something, you’re diminishing your self-worth. Well as wise Shakespeare said, doubts are our traitors. We are all capable of more than we give ourselves credit for and far stronger than we know. If only we wouldn’t wrap ourselves in cotton wool. Life is for exploring. Sometimes we have to take risks to evolve, which means being vulnerable and yes there is then the potential to get hurt. But you can say you did it! All it is is another life experience.

A lot of what I’m saying is advice for myself. We all find it hard to digest our own words but writing it down helps somehow.

It’s natural to doubt and to worry, it’s how we protect ourselves. However, it’s also in our nature to explore and go on adventures, and to do this we need to let go of those doubts. Prove yourself wrong!

Lift your head up and say to yourself “I am an amazing person. I can do way more than I think I can.”

Just as Christopher Robin said to Winnie the Pooh, say to yourself and believe it:

“You’re braver than you believe, stronger than you seem and smarter than you think.”

You only live once – don’t beat yourself up now because you’ll end up regretting it later.

Enjoy the rollercoaster – live, love and laugh, experiment, lose, win, be brave and, most importantly, believe in yourself.

Take Shakespeare’s pearls of wisdom and know that he was right when he wrote ‘Our doubts are traitors’.

There is no room for traitors in your life.

This entry was posted in Happiness Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

