Figuring out what makes you happy

By doing a happiness project, you are forced to focus on the things that make you happy because you are paying attention to them everyday.

For me, I have realised that there are three things which never fail to make me happy – good weather, food and great company.

I have found this out through the #100happydays project which I am doing alongside my blog and the idea of that is to record a photo a day of something which makes you happy. At first, I was a little surprised by how dominated it became with photos of food, baking, having a coffee but then I realised all these things I had shared with friends, so it became more meaningful.

And so what if food is one of the things that puts a smile on your face? It’s essential to day to day life and is there to be enjoyed! I also think there is a lot to be said for some rays of sunshine lifting your mood. Perhaps because it triggers memories of summer time or holidays – both times when you are relaxed and happy.

Knowing what can put you in a good mood is a very beneficial thing to learn, as it helps on days when you’re not feeling 100%.

For instance, the other day I had one of those days where I just couldn’t get myself out of this funny mood. It was that sort of emotionally tired feeling, mixed with being physically tired too. So I decided to do some baking, Skype a friend and get out in the limited sunshine for an afternoon walk. I ticked all of my happy boxes and I did feel much better afterwards.

I read a quote the other day which said:

“Happiness isn’t about getting what you want all the time. It’s about loving what you have and being grateful for it.”

I think that’s pretty much spot on. Being happy comes from the heart, as much as the head but as long as you can love the things in your life, you will be much more accepting and in turn happier.

We all want more than what we have, the grass always seems greener on the other side, but actually what we have is pretty good and half the time we forget to recognise that. Take a moment to look around you, your belongings, your home, think about your friends and family and the job you love doing. It all adds up.

So although it’s natural to want to strive for more, we don’t actually need more to be happy. What we do need more of is love – both loving and looking after yourself and the people around you. Being patient, sympathetic, friendly and fun to be around is more than anyone could ask for and I bet when we really look at ourselves, we do all of those things.

Bake cakes, go for long walks in the sunshine, meet up with friends for coffee – because you can, and be grateful for it.

This entry was posted in Happiness Project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

