Week 30: No pressure

In our busy time-precious lives, there is often very little time to sit back and take stock of things and increasingly with the stresses of work, traffic, houses, cars, relationships, etc, our time seems to disappear before our very eyes.

Like many people, my life can also get hectic and I find the first thing to suffer is my sleep – invariably as I get busier, I get more tired which in turn means I’m not as productive and can’t do the things I want to do, which is frustrating.

I think part of the problem is that I put a lot of pressure on myself to do all these things. Getting involved and being busy is what I thrive on but it only works well if you have the energy.

So I decided that this week, instead of getting to the point of feeling frustrated and tired, I would take some pressure off myself, get some sleep and see what a difference it made. The other thing is that when you feel down, you tend to give yourself a hard time for it which again knocks your confidence and the vicious cycle starts all over again.

First, I sat down with my diary and ruled out things which weren’t essential or where I wouldn’t be missed and got it down the minimal things. Then, I set myself a 11pm lights out curfew.

Unsurprisingly, I felt tons better and I then had the energy to put my all into what I was doing that week. Leaving me feeling better for the weekend and hopefully to continue into the following week.

Pressure is good at times, as long as it is well managed. Short of having a spa day to relax, cutting down on the non essential activities is just as good as a break.

Time out.

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

