Week 20: Learn to give

Carrying on from the positivity of last week and realising that I am worth way more than I thought. Not in an ego-boosting type of way but rather discovering that undervaluing myself doesn’t help matters.

This week, I decided to focus on channelling my positive energy into giving. Giving advice to friends, giving time to people and giving gifts.

When we give, we get more. As humans there is a part of us designed to please others, so when we do something good like make the time to listen to our friends, or lend someone 50p so they can get their bus home, it gives us a boost.

I’m not saying you have to go around offering people bus fares and spending hours on the phone to friends but these actions, when done every now and then, are an important part of staying connected to people and maintaining faith in humankind, which is vital on a quest for self-confidence. You need to be aware of how to react to other people so you can track how you’re doing.

The simple act of spending half an hour on the phone to a friend you haven’t spoken to in a while is time well spent. It connects you with those who mean the most to you and often sheds light on things you may be dwelling on.

For instance, a phone call to a friend of mine turned out to be one of the best two hours of my week. I was trying to give her advice on some issues she was having to do with finding jobs and in turn I offloaded a few things on her and she gave me some wise words which I hadn’t even thought of before.

How is that with some things you can dwell on them for days or weeks and yet someone can come along and tell you something you hadn’t even considered?

I’m glad it is possible because she immediately put my mind at ease and I felt better instantly. Talking to people and connecting with people whether that’s a smile or taking the time to stand in someone else’s shoes for a moment to understand where they’re coming from are the most valuable moments of all.

All too often, we all get too swept up in our own lives that we forget to reach out and be human.

As Kenneth Eade puts it:

“We forget that we humans are animals, inextricably connected to the world and everything in it.”

So let’s start remembering that more.

 

 

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

