Week 19: Remember who your number 1 is

Sometimes we get so caught up in what other people think of us or we focus solely on what we’re doing and how we’re doing it, that we forget – the best person in your life is you.

You are your greatest asset and no matter how hard you try to change things about you, at the end of the day, you have to work with what you’ve got.

This week, after some wise words from a friend of mine, I realised that to really make the most of improving my self-confidence, I had to first focus on myself and put myself first. Not an easy thing to do when so much of the time you are caught up in trying to please other people, balancing your interests with theirs.

However, it was a step worth taking and by the end of the week it actually felt like someone had flicked a switch inside me. Everything that was murky became clear and it was as if someone had written down all my important values and displayed them right in front of me.

I came to appreciate my worth and learn that I wasn’t happy settling for less than that. Whether that would be getting into a bad relationship, underselling myself at work or even compromising so much on arrangements that I then begrudged the time spent in company.

Realising your own self-worth is a valuable lesson worth learning and once you understand it, there’s no going back. You won’t let people mess you around, or annoy you or get the better of you because you know your value and you have friends and people around you who also know it.

Don’t settle for less than what you’re worth and don’t be afraid to take the time out to value yourself.

 

 

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

