Week 15: Dress for a photoshoot

One of the simplest and best ways to improve your self-confidence is to dress so you look good and, in turn, feel good.

For week 15, I decided that each day I would dress as if I was going to be in a photoshoot. Far from rocking the latest fashion styles, I took is more as an opportunity to wear a new dress to work, dig out some of my favourite jewellery and spend more time putting make up on in the morning.

My task for the week was made much easier by the fact that it was sunny and mild, so my old woolly cardigans and waterproof jacket could stay at home.

Putting on a new dress on the first day, I already felt much better. What a difference it can make stepping away from your usual look and trying out something new. At first, stepping out onto the pavement with a new dress and styled hair made me feel slightly self-conscious but when I realised that nobody was staring or pointing at me, I started to relax into it and realise how good it made me feel.

It had an impact on everything I did. I started smiling at everyone I passed, talking more to people I knew, offering to help with extra things at work and best of all my own self-esteem felt like it had tripled overnight.

The effects of the first day did not wear off overnight either, I carried my positive self-esteem into the next day and the next and the next. In fact, by the end of the week, I felt like quite a different person.

Having such a visible improvement to my self-confidence after my first 15 weeks of my 52 week challenge is a massive boost. Here’s to the next 15 weeks being as successful.

 

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 15: Dress for a photoshoot

Leave a Reply

