Week 11: Be spontaneous

This week has been one of the most fulfilling of my challenge so far. I have embraced spur of the moment things and let go of my routine.

Things that I usually do have been taken out of my diary and instead I have enjoyed doing things quite spontaneously.

It all started at the end of last week when I planned a short 24 hour trip to Germany to visit a friend just because it can be done and I had the time. I came back feeling proud of myself.

On the evening of my return I joined up to a great website called Memrise which lets you learn things for free – I took up a German course and started learning vocabulary and grammar.

The next day, I went for a morning run and took a trip to a nearby local tourist attraction before meeting a friend for a catch up in the evening – we were in the restaurant for three hours and I didn’t even notice the time fly by.

The following day I had vague plans to meet a friend but we didn’t finalise anything until I finished work, which is unusual for me as I like to have things planned out. Not this week though. I went round for dinner and we chatted about all sorts – it was a lovely evening and I felt refreshed afterwards.

Next up, I joined up to a car club and reserved a car for a mini weekend adventure. I haven’t yet decided where I’m going or what I will do but I can decide that on the day.

I learnt to relax a bit and spent time in front of the TV (albeit whilst catching up on emails but not something I would have done before). I even decided to go out for a run in the rain because I felt like it!

This is what living for the moment is all about and I am glad that I have discovered it. Enjoying the present is important. Of course, there will be times when you need to plan things – like travelling, booking tickets or arranging a meeting – but for the most part it is possible to be quite spontaneous. Not just possible, but it’s enjoyable and energising.

Going forward I want to do more spontaneous things and focus on doing things because I want to and not because I feel I have to:

“”Live in the only moment of time over which you have any control: now.””
Denis Waitley

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

