Week 5: Another year, another you

How do you feel the day before your birthday? Do you have a great need to feel you have accomplished something great or substantial that year? Perhaps you feel like you should do everything you’ve wanted to do all in one day.

In actual fact, all that happens is you get another year older (and wiser!) but why do we feel like something has to happen? I reckon it’s because this marks a new year, a time for change, or a goal to aim towards.

My 22nd year has been an eventful one. I travelled overseas twice, proving to myself I could fly long haul (and enjoy it). I tried out online dating and, although it wasn’t particularly successful, I met three great new guys who I would now consider friends. I volunteered on one of my trips overseas and met some fantastic people, all of which enriched my time out there. On top of all that, I got myself a new job and found a lovely new house share.

So I pretty much ticked all the boxes for a successful year, yet the day before my birthday I feel a sense of disappointment. Maybe it’s because the weather is getting me down, maybe it was a long day at work, or maybe it’s because sometimes we’re just too hard on ourselves sometimes.

There is an expectation that the next year will be better than the last, however having done lots this year, I’m not sure if I can trump that! Every year is different and the experiences you have change you. So I say embrace it.

Don’t feel you’ve let yourself down. Celebrate what you’ve done and be proud of what you’ve achieved.

In the words of Oprah Winfrey:

“The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate.”

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

