Week 2: Show your true colours

With a busy social calendar lined up, I decided that this would be the week to really work on raising my self-esteem and put myself out there a bit more, be myself.

There have been many times when I have been in a social setting and just found myself nodding and agreeing with everything, often coming away feeling that I hadn’t been myself at all. So it’s time to change that.

First up I bit the bullet and decided to strike up a conversation with someone who I often see after work but we have never got passed the pleasantries of ‘Hello’ and ‘How are you?’ It wasn’t so difficult to get chatting and I soon felt relaxed enough to add in some of my trademark gentle sarcasm. Not only had I had the guts to approach them but I had also shown more of myself and I came away feeling happy and with more confidence in myself.

The second occasion was a work event, which is always a bit of an odd one. Do you ever really show your true self to colleagues? Admittedly it does depend on who it is but this event was quite a mix.
I got seated next to a couple of people in neighbouring departments and after getting menu choices and drinks orders out the way we got onto the topic of music. Being with people from a different generation, I hadn’t heard of a lot of what they were discussing. Normally I would probably have gone along with it but this time I spoke out and turns out that they were more than happy to educate me on the music of their youth.
A win-win situation really, I learnt something new and they learnt something more about me. Not so bad after all.

Last but not least was at an event at the weekend where I was interacting with many new people. Quite apart from trying to keep track of everyone’s names, I got involved in a lot of different conversations. Again, I worked on my tactics to ensure I didn’t blithely nod along and agree. As a result, I actually realised a bit more about myself and made some good connections rather than acquaintances who may have seen me as just another person there.

All in all, a big success. I didn’t think it would be that straight-forward and actually surprised myself. It has really helped me feel much more confident about being myself around friends, colleagues and new people.

Roll on the next challenge!

This entry was posted in 52 Week Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

