A dream come true

“There are times in life too beautiful, too poignant to share, some too painful to recount to others. Yet some memories are sources of peace and you feed on them in those dark nights of the soul when sleep is elusive.” – Leah Fleming

Image

After a wonderful four weeks in the most beautiful country on Earth, the time had come to return home.

It was with a heavy heart that I packed up and left the house on Saturday. Leaving behind the best people I could have hoped to meet on my visit, friends for life.

It was also a time for reflection and I realised that the whole South African experience has changed me. I have gained confidence, learnt to be patience, become more tolerant and most of all I have been exposed to a whole different culture which has really opened my eyes.

Being back in the UK after such an experience has made me realise how different life here is and that no matter how many tourists flock to Cape Town, South Africa is still a developing country which makes it an exceptionally diverse and exciting place to be.

My highlights have been seeing elephants in the wild, watching the sunset in Camps Bay and having a picnic on Llandudno Beach. It all feels like a dream and I am incredibly lucky to have been able to see it all and share it with some fantastic people – I will miss them all.

So it’s goodbye to South Africa for now but believe me, I will be back!

This entry was posted in Travels in South Africa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

