New Job, New City

There’s something very exciting about receiving a job offer. I remember the day I got mine because it was the day after my birthday and I was just about to go out to a lecture when the phone rang. What a way to end the day, I could barely concentrate on what my lecturer was saying!

In the past, I’ve had a couple of part time jobs, nothing that required an interview though. This time it was a new job, new city and lots of new people. You don’t really think of any of that when there’s someone on the end of the phone saying they’d like to employ you, my initial reaction was yes! It’s only when you get to about a month away you start thinking about the practicalities. When should I arrive? What will I need? Will the people like me?

In some respects, the job I’ve taken is a bit like moving to university, in that I have accommodation provided on site. However, apart from the residential side, that’s where the similarities end. It’s early starts and late finishes and time off becomes absolutely sacred but it’s enjoyable and the people are great which makes all the difference.

I started just over two weeks ago and at first I felt very out of my depth but now I feel like I’ve been here for months! People are designed to adapt to different situations and if at first you don’t succeed, you hang on in there.

So there are lots of new things to take on board but that’s part and parcel of getting a job. You don’t study for three years at university to get a job where you already know what you’re doing.

You can just about escape exams when you leave university, but you never stop learning.

This entry was posted in Life in the Real World. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

